Devine is an amazing dancer. I got the chance to see her dance before and she was great; so when my Junior class for the VBS wanted to do a dance for the closing program on Sunday, I knew exactly who to turn to…Devine. I asked her if she could teach and choreograph 5 of my  students some steps to Lee Ann Womack “I Hope You Dance” and she said yes.

She was a life saver because I didn’t know what to do with the class.

For the last two weeks we’ve been staying late rehearsing and practicing. I watched astoundingly, as she took 5 inexperienced, amateur students and began to transform them into dancers. They weren’t as good as she was  and for the first week it looked like I was going to have to make some changes to the program. It didn’t seem like they were going to learn the dance in the short amount of time that we had left.

I usually don’t make it to the class on Tuesdays and Thursdays but I knew that time was of the essence if we were going to successful pull this so I decided to go in on Tuesday. Watching and waiting for my students to become close to professionals was nerve wrecking. Well I knew they’d never become professionals overnight but Lawd knows I wanted them to become at least something by Sunday, and Devine was going to make it happen. At least I hoped.

There were days where my lead dancer had her little attitude and wasn’t trying to dance with life and enthusiasm.  The other days  two other dancers who were partners weren’t getting along one blaming the other for missteps. Then other days where my other dancers  were just nonchalant about the whole regime.

My dream of having this amazing performance was beginning to look like a nightmare and I was beginning to be discouraged. 

Then… a ray of hope.  It was time for rehearsal and I almost fell out as I watched my dancers do their thang. They were dancing and twirling and putting their all into it. I was so proud and so happy. Then my heart sank. Devine walked in with a bandage wrapped around her leg. I asked her what happened, she  said injured her leg playing soccer. My first reaction was like…soccer….what the heck…why in the world are you playing soccer when you have to teach my class. What are they going to do now especially since she had taught them a new move that they were still struggling with.

Of course I didn’t verbalize my thoughts knowing that I wasn’t paying her to teach my class to dance, so I asked if she was ok and she yes.

Although Devine was doing a great job working with my students, at some point she began to be in discomfort as her leg started bothering her. I didn’t want her to exert anymore pressure on it so I told her she might just want to get off the leg and ease up on it a bit. My students were fine and knew what to do at this point.

Devine deserves to be commended for her commitment to my class indeed.

Sometimes in life we are hurt and wounded and we need to get off that leg and heal. Get away from the people that are chronically wounding your heart.  You can live without them. Remove yourself from the situation and those people that don’t value you, your gifts and talents, your opinions or your heart and take your time and heal. 

When we are hurt physically or emotionally, it takes time and great care to be healed. It’s very imperative that we understand that the only way to be healed and whole is to walk in wisdom. So get off that leg and get healed.  Let go of whoever you have to let go of and be at peace with that decision if it’s in your best interest emotionally. You owe it to yourself and your peace of mind.

